Just Sayin’ – Underdog

Posted: February 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

The racehorse Seabiscuit was the quintessential underdog of the 30’s. He was overraced, underappreciated and too small to be taken seriously. And in a country that was still feeling as if it was punched in the gut because of the great depression, Seabiscuit became a symbol for the little guy that needed a win.

In 2003, Seabiscuit’s story was made into a movie. In one particular scene, where thousands were gathered at a train stop to support to show their support, Charles Howard, the owner played by Jeff Bridges, said a most memorable line, “Our horse is too small. Our jockey’s too big. Our trainer’s too old. And I’m too dumb to know the difference.”[1]

When Seattle lost to the Steelers in Super bowl XL (2005), it felt as if it had been punched in the gut. Coach Holmgren himself was quoted later, “We knew it was going to be tough going against the Pittsburgh Steelers. I didn’t know we were going to have to play the guys in the striped shirts as well.”[2] And he wasn’t the only that felt that way. In 2010, Michael Leavy, the referee of that Super bowl validated the criticism.[3]

And so it doesn’t surprise me that nearly 1 million 12th man fans stood the freezing temperatures to welcome home the NFL champions – for the Seahawks also became also a symbol for the little folks that need a win. The Seahawks win this year was great not only for Seattle but for all of the folks that have suffered from a gut punch.

And isn’t it nice to root for the underdog…

…the Lamb that was slain from the creation of the world… Then I looked, and there before me was the Lamb, standing on Mount Zion, and with him 144,000 who had his name and his Father’s name written on their foreheads. Rev 13:8, 14:1 (NIV)

I feel as though i’m getting real close to a line I ought not cross by using the NFL to make a point about Jesus – but if there was ever a underdog that could help a people that need a win – it is the lamb that was slain from the foundation of the world and yet stands victorious with all those that followed him whereever he goes (Rev 14:4). Praise Jesus.

I’m just sayin’…

=========

 

(1) “Seabiscuit (film).” – Wikiquote. N.p., n.d. Web. 7 Feb. 2014. <http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Seabiscuit>.

 

(2) “NFL will review Holmgren comments.”ESPN.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 7 Feb. 2014. <http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/playoffs05/news/story?id=2322700>.

(3) On August 6, 2010, while visiting the Seahawks’ preseason training camp for an annual rules interpretation session with the Seattle media, Leavy brought up Super Bowl XL without being asked,and admitted to having blown calls: It was a tough thing for me. I kicked two calls in the fourth quarter and I impacted the game, and as an official you never want to do that. It left me with a lot of sleepless nights, and I think about it constantly. I’ll go to my grave wishing that I’d been better … I know that I did my best at that time, but it wasn’t good enough … When we make mistakes, you got to step up and own them. It’s something that all officials have to deal with, but unfortunately when you have to deal with it in the Super Bowl it’s difficult. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Bowl_XL&gt;

Leave a comment